So yep, a cheesy title, but new city, new job, a lot of new and fresh. There has been a lot to celebrate the last few months. First, I have had amazing test results! My blood work came back with a really low number which is really really great. Also, I got a new job!! I am super excited! It is as an Education Assistant in a preschool classroom. The name of my class is the mountain room, and I will be working with two co-teachers. They are amazing smart women whom I know I will learn a lot from. The school is Desert Springs Children’s Center, they have a Reggio Emilia approach, which is mainly about child directed learning. As an educator in this approach your job is to look for clues or hints that the children are giving you to show you what they are interested in and allowing natural experiences and play to facilitate learning. I love being a teacher in this environment because it allows me to expand their thinking naturally. I also like this approach because it is very focused on treating children with respect. I have seen way too many times teachers yelling at children and not getting on their eye level. I wouldn’t listen to someone yelling at me all the time, why would a child? So needless to say, I am very excited to be part of the Desert Springs community. 

Even with all of the fresh and new exciting things going on, I still have the what if questions. What if, I didn’t have the surgery? Would Gary and I have kids right now? Would we be in Tucson? Would my life be better? 

Most of the time I am happy to be where we are, the what if questions still nag at me, but I know that God’s plan is always best. These questions sometimes keep me up at night, or crying after a long shift. Something I know I need to be better at is dealing with my emotions as they come up, or at least at some point during the same day. It’s hard when you have frappuccinos to make, or children throwing paint, to deal with complicated emotions. Even if I make a quick note to remember to deal with my feelings each day, I wont have over whelming days where I feel like I can’t do anything but cry. I go and go and go, and when I finally stop, it’s like my emotions are a river breaking out of a dam. No one can control that kind of force, not even Gary. I know the God of the universe, the Almighty, the Everlasting God can. He can do anything. 

 

Exodus 33:14

English Standard Version (ESV)

14 And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”